List Blog

Top 10 Favourite Books (In no particular order):

  1. The Fault in Our Stars- John Green: John Green is my favourite author of all time, hence why he is on this list three times (only two of his books didn’t make it on here). TFiOS is a book about two cancer patients, but it’s more about living then dying. I already loved Green’s other books, and this one was no different. His trademark humor had me laughing out loud, and the ending had me wiping tears from my eyes. 
  2. Perks of Being a Wallflower- Stephen Chbosky: Perks is a coming of age novel about a boy named Charlie. I read this book in grade 9, the same age as Charlie, so I feel it is still an important book in my life. Chbosky is, in my opinion, an amazing writer, and the movie with Logan Lerman, Emma Watson and Paul Rudd actually lived up to my expectations!
  3. It’s Kind of a Funny Story- Ned Vizzini: This book is about Craig Gilner’s struggle with depression and his days in a mental hospital, but it is not in the least depressing. In fact, it’s actually kind of hopeful, and I laughed out loud at Craig’s experience’s and rooted for his recovery. The movie was a bit dissapointing, though.
  4. Anna and the French Kiss- Stephanie Perkins: I believe every person can have a guilty pleasure book. This is not mine, though. (Pretty Little Liars is!). Despite it’s somewhat fluffy premise and girly cover, Anna and the French Kiss is actually a book of surprising substance. Anna is a great protagonist because she is flawed and not described as overly pretty and perfect looking, like a lot of the girl protagonists in YA fiction. She is smart and funny, and so is the book.
  5. The Hunger Games- Suzanne Collins: Even as this book series gained popularity, I had no interest in reading it. However, people kept pushing me to read it, telling me it was amazing- even my brother who’s 2 years younger than me suggested it- so eventually I gave in. And they were right: I really loved it. The Capitol was so horrifying it made me shudder and the nonstop action had me hooked, even before I was rooting for Katniss to choose Peeta.
  6. The Book Thief- Markus Zusak: My dad got me this book for Christmas a year or two ago, so I read it over the break, and found I couldn’t stop. This book has some of my favourite characters of all time. I liked Liesel, but I especially loved Hans, Rudy, and Max, and even Rosa had her good moments. The ending had me sobbing into my pillow and feeling extremely angry at Zusak, but even the tragic end couldn’t stop me from loving this book.
  7. Paper Towns-John Green: Another John Green book that I adore, Paper Towns, like the Book Thief, has some of my favourite characters. This book had me laughing out loud so often I was afraid to read it in public for fear of looking crazy. Quinton, Radar and Ben had me rooting for them since the beginning, and their crazy mishaps while looking for Q’s love Margo had me wishing I could go on a similar road trip with my friends. Well, minus the car accident.
  8. Before I Fall- Lauren Oliver: Sam Kingston and her story were interesting, to say the least. Sam dies in a car crash after drinking with her friends at a party, only to find she wakes up on the same day, before the accident. She must now figure out what to change about her day to stop the accident. I loved how the novel explored themes of how you affect another person and how we treat others. I also liked how Sam is popular and a bully, as it offered a new perspective and you could see Sam’s development throughout the novel into a better person.
  9. Looking For Alaska- John Green: The last John Green book on the list. Looking For Alaska is about Miles Halter’s life when he attends boarding school and falls in love with a girl named Alaska Young, until tradgedy strikes. It is heartbreaking and there are many sad parts, but it doesn’t feel like a ploy or a marketing scheme of any sort. It just feels honest and the themes of life and death, though overused, feel fresh.
  10.  The Lightning Thief- Rick Riordan: My seventh grade teacher, Mr. Rowe, read this to us aloud, and I loved it so much, I went out and bought the rest of the series. I have read it over and over again, and got my brother to read it as well. Even though it’s for younger kids, it remains one of my favourites because I love Percy, Grover, and Annabeth, and their adventures had me wishing I was a half-blood too.

 

Leave a comment